Chipotle Peach BBQ Pulled Pork

2013-08-16 19.43.17 HDRWho knew making pulled pork could be such an ordeal! Short version – Adam and I have been in our new apartment for about a month. It’s great, we love it. But the move didn’t fare well with all of our stuff – mainly Adam’s electronic equipment. When I decided to give this recipe a try it was the night after Adam’s speakers had finally given out. In our apartment no speakers = no TV sound. We had yet to receive a working cable box for said TV, so it wasn’t really a problem. But as anyone who has moved knows, one broken item is just one more thing to buy.

So I start with the whole coking thing. I pull out the crockpot – I purposely used a recipe that could be cooked for 24 hours so I wouldn’t have to watch it for a full day – start cutting onions, garlic, put the meat in the pot, season, put the lid on, hit the on/off button, and…no light. The thing wouldn’t turn on! Imagine having all the scent of spiced in your kitchen only to know you won’t be eating this yummy treat tomorrow because the crockpot won’t work! Adam tried to fix it, but it was long gone. Electronics 2, Adam/Geri 0.  The next day, Adam bought us a new crock pot, and finally we could get rolling on the deliciousness that is pulled pork. Raw pork goes into the new crockpot and in a day the meat is falling off the bones.

This is the first recipe from my Pinterest challenge. I found the Peach BBQ Sauce recipe relatively recently on Pinterest. With the end of Google Reader I have just to find a suitable substitute to manage all the blogs I used to follow. I know there are other reader sites out there, but none provide the easy access or distraction Google Reader did from my ever open Gmail account. So I’ve substituted my lack of new recipe ideas by perusing Pinterest. The pulled pork recipe I had to track down the old fashioned way – a good ol’ Google search.

2013-08-16 19.42.54 HDR

Note: In my opinion the pork was a little dry, so I’d suggest coming back on the cooking just a bit. Also the BBQ sauce was a bit sweet for my taste, and not quite spicy enough. Next time I’ll adjust the spices a bit more.

 

 

 

 

Crock-Pot Pulled Pork

Courtesy of Generation X Finance

http://genxfinance.com/crock-pot-bbq-pulled-pork-recipe-for-under-15-easy-and-frugal/

Time 12-24 hours

Serves 10-12 people

  • 5-7 pound whole pork shoulder (mine was about 5 pounds)
  • 1 medium to large onion
  • A few cloves of garlic
  • BBQ Rub Seasoning (enough to cover the whole pork shoulder)
  • 2-3 Tbsp Liquid Smoke
  • BBQ Sauce (I used the Peach Chipotle BBQ Sauce, but any kind will do. This is more based on personal preference. I ended up using all of the BBQ Sauce I made, but if your pork is juicier than mine you shouldn’t need as much sauce.)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Mince the garlic and cut the onions in quarters or eights. You’ll discard them in the end so there’s no need to cut them any smaller. Place them in the bottom of your crock pot. Next rub the pork shoulder with BBQ rub. Make sure you’ve got a nice thick layer on the entire shoulder, not just the top. I used several tablespoons for this.  Next place the pork in the crockpot over the onions and garlic. Sprinkle the Liquid Smoke over the top of the pork shoulder, cover the pot, and turn on your roast. I assembled mine after dinner the previous night, set it to low and let it go for 24 hours. However you could easily make this in the morning and cook it at a higher temperature.

Once the pork is finished, pull it out and place it in a separate bowl. Discard the liquid in the crock pot. You could make stock out of it, but it’s a bit too fatty for my taste. Shred the pork in the bowl with a pair of forks. Add BBQ sauce, salt, and pepper to taste. Serve on buns or eat plain.  I didn’t quite do the math before cooking the pork, so we also ended up with a LOT of pork and were eating it for a few days.

Peach Chipotle Barbecue Sauce

Courtesy of Cookie Monster Cooking

http://cookiemonstercooking.com/2013/07/29/easy-peach-chipotle-barbecue-sauce/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+CookieMonsterCooking+%28Cookie+Monster+Cooking%29

Yields about 2 ½ cups

  • 1 ½ cups ketchup
  • ½ cup molasses
  • ½ cup peach preserves
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon minced chipotle in adobo sauce (I ended up using about 2 tablespoons)
  • ½ teaspoon liquid smoke
  • dash of hot sauce (or more to taste)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Whisk together all ingredients in a medium bowl. Use for Pulled Pork above, or store in an air tight container in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

